LA Improv Program

level image Improv 101 through Improv 401 make up our core Improv Program. In these courses you will learn how to improvise game-based comedic scenes and the Long Form structure known as the "Harold".

The Improv Advanced Study Program is open to all students who pass Improv 401 and wish to continue taking classes. The program offers a wide variety of classes including ones on specific aspects of improv, drilling the Harold, and different forms.

This class introduces the basics of how to perform long-form improv. Students will learn how to use "yes-and," playing at the top of your intelligence, active listening and support to create comedic improvised scenes.

Level Day / Time Start Date Teacher Actions
Intro to Long Form - ONLINE Thursdays 4pm PST/7pm EST May 28th, 2020, 4:00pm Monique Moses Sold Out
Intro to Long Form - ONLINE Fridays 2pm PST/ 5pm EST May 29th, 2020, 2:00pm Drew DiFonzo Marks Sold Out
Intro to Long Form - ONLINE Saturdays 3pm PST/ 6pm EST May 30th, 2020, 3:00pm Toni Charline Sold Out
Intro to Long Form - ONLINE Mondays 4pm PST / 7pm EST Jun 1st, 2020, 4:00pm Patrick Clair Sold Out
Intro to Long Form - ONLINE Thursdays 7pm PST/10pm EST Jun 4th, 2020, 7:00pm Betsy Stover Sold Out
Intro to Long Form - ONLINE Saturdays 11am PST/2pm EST Jun 6th, 2020, 11:00am Betsy Stover Sold Out
Intro to Long Form - ONLINE Thursdays 10am PST/1pm EST Jun 11th, 2020, 10:00am Betsy Stover Sold Out
Intro to Long Form - ONLINE Thursdays 5pm PST /8pm EST Jun 11th, 2020, 5:00pm Sarah Claspell Sold Out
Intro to Long Form - ONLINE Saturdays 3-6pm PST/6-9pm EST Jun 13th, 2020, 3:00pm Ari Voukydis Course Details
Intro to Long Form - ONLINE Sundays 11am PST/ 2pm EST Jun 14th, 2020, 11:00am Sarah Claspell Sold Out
Intro to Long Form - ONLINE Sundays 3pm PST/6pm EST Jun 14th, 2020, 3:00pm Monika Smith Course Details
Intro to Long Form - ONLINE Mon & Thurs noon PST/3pm EST Jun 15th, 2020, 12:00pm Monique Moses Sold Out
Intro to Long Form - ONLINE Tuesdays 11am PST/2pm EST Jun 16th, 2020, 11:00am Monika Smith Sold Out
Intro to Long Form - ONLINE Tuesdays 4:30pm PST/ 7:30pm EST Jun 16th, 2020, 4:30pm John Murray Sold Out
Intro to Long Form - ONLINE Wednesdays 2pm PT/ 5pm ET Jun 17th, 2020, 2:00pm Drew DiFonzo Marks Course Details
Intro to Long Form - ONLINE Wednesdays 4pm PST/7pm EST Jun 17th, 2020, 4:00pm Patrick Clair Sold Out
Intro to Long Form Improv for Teens - ONLINE Mon/Weds/Fri 11am PST / 2pm EST Jun 22nd, 2020, 11:00am Cory P Willis Course Details
Intro to Long Form - ONLINE Tuesdays 6pm PT/9pm ET Jun 23rd, 2020, 6:00pm Toni Charline Course Details
Intro to Long Form - ONLINE Thursdays 4:30pm PST/7:30pm EST Jun 25th, 2020, 4:30pm John Murray Course Details

This class introduces the concept of finding the Game of The Scene in long-form improv. The "game" is the cornerstone of the UCB improv philosophy - it roughly means being aware of what makes your scenes funny and focusing on it as the scene progresses.

No courses currently available in this level

This class introduces the form called The Harold. In the Harold, performers improvise comedic scenes that connect to create one unified piece.

No courses currently available in this level

In this class, students continue to study the Harold. After successfull completing this class, they have completed the core improv program at the UCBT.

No courses currently available in this level
No courses currently available in this level

The Advanced Study program is an application-only set of classes, designed for students who have completed the core curriculum and are ready to make a professional level of commitment to improv or sketch comedy, and are ready to perform at an advanced level.

No courses currently available in this level